It is currently November 21st, 2014, 9:09 am Advanced search

Connecting to network to copy files

Network questions about connecting, sharing and download with your AIOS HD Media Player.

Connecting to network to copy files

Postby FilmFax » October 26th, 2011, 7:18 am

Hello, I just got my AIOS yesterday and spent the evening trying to get it set up. I'm having trouble getting it to connect to the network. First off, I'm not really experienced with networking but I'm not totally tech challenged. I have a PS3 and haven't had trouble connecting to my iMac with it. With the PS3, I go through a UPnP (MediaLink) and I copy over files to the hard drive on the PS3.

I was able to use the UPnP on the AIOS, but I don't see any option to copy files to the local hard drive. I tried to connect through the network. I activated the Samba Process, I set up file sharing on the Mac. When I try to access the AIOS from the iMac, it asks me for a password. If I try to connect as Guest, it won't let me. From the AIOS, I try to connect to the iMac through the Workgroup, but I keep getting "Logon Failed" messages, even though I'm using the username and password I set up. I have it connected to my router with a wired connection (Cat 5e cable, Gigabit LAN Wireless Router)

Am I missing something? How do I copy files from the iMac to the AIOS? I was hoping the unit was a little more consumer friendly. The files I previewed look and sound awesome though, so I'm happy about that.

Thanks
FilmFax

Re: Connecting to network to copy files

Postby aasoror » October 26th, 2011, 8:36 am

How to access the AIOS HDD from Mac OS X
Prerequisites: Enable SAMBA on the AIOS and make sure secure login is turned OFF.
On the Mac OS X: use your file browser and type the following address "smb://AIOS.IP.Address/" (where AIOS.IP.Address is the IP address assigned to your AIOS and can be checked from the networking settings on the AIOS setup screen).

How to access the Mac OS X network shares from the AIOS